Soylent (and weight-loss) Week One  

DISCLAIMER:This post was filled with much bowel-talk; sad truth is, so was my week.

The results are in and they are staggering. Click on the image, then click once more, it will open into a separate window in high-quality. A single click will yield a lower quality and difficult to decipher image. Notice the “0” for Goal–not every person sent in his or her target weight. The spreadsheet is built to calculate progress-to-goal. It might be populated next week, it also might not.

Capture.JPG

A security measure was taken to help maintain integrity of the weight-loss data. All participants send their weigh-in statistics to a member of the weight-loss challenge. That member then sends to results to me under pseudonyms. I then enter the data into a spreadsheet under said pseudonyms. The measurements will be assessed by percentage of body weight lost. This helps to level the playing field.

Double Cheeseburger is leading the pack this week with 4.5% body-weight loss and is in the lead to win $370 ($40 entry fee per person plus an additional $10 to be paid to the winner from the worst-performing contestant). Lil’ Puppet has shed the most lbs and is a notable honorable mention. Some contestants put-on a little weight which is to be expected as excise and healthier eating can aid in the manufacturing of muscle.

All of us took our initial weight post-consumption of large quantities of food and many of us took our updated weight without having eaten food. The results from end of week two should be more accurate and represent actual progress. I expect the lighter-weight contestants will reach a plateau point somewhere around week five and those of us with more mass will expedite our weight loss around that same time (given we are still working our tails off).

Being that this is the “Ultimate Cousin Weight-Loss Challenge Extravaganza,” we are cousins and see one another with some regularity. Saturday served-host to a family party including but not limited to alcohol, food, and general celebratory happenings. The feasting and gluttonous consumption could have off-set preceding day’s progress. Some participants boasted and bragged about their triumphs in the gymnasium, successes in the sauna, and fights with fries. Whatever the end-results are; it is sure to be an exciting experience.

Tune in next week for another update. Proceed below for my seven day savory Soylent summation. #

The boxes arrive! I optimistically opened all of the boxes and my expectations were exceeded because I forgot that Soylent includes a sticker, pitcher, and measuring scoop with each new order.

Capture1.JPG

The instructions were clear, packing protected, and ordered fulfilled. I was stocked, locked, and ready to go.

Are there benefits to be had from adding Soylent to my life? Why yes, yes there are.

“Time:
Prepare multiple meals in minutes - no need to shop for individual ingredients or plan ahead.
Money:
Spend less than $10 per day on food, and less than $4 per meal - get more than a day’s worth of meals for less than the cost of takeout.
Nutrition:
Eat balanced and wholesome - get all of the essential nutrients required to fuel the human body.”

Capture2.JPG.

Well how does it taste? Is there interesting mouth-feel?

“Oat flour. Sand…. Wood-shavings….No, chalk?” My first reactions to my first sip of Soylent first thing in the morning. Upon reflection, I decided it was more like pancake batter mixed with essence of card-stock. Each sip had the mouth-feel residue of one-thousand envelops licked. All the while I could not pinpoint in what state of matter Soylent lived: beverage–food–liquid-solid…..lolsquid?

Capture.JPG

In all seriousness, Soylent is mostly: High Oleic Sunflower Oil,
Rice Protein, Oat Flour, Isomaltulose, Vitamin and Mineral Blend… for complete details please visit http://www.soylent.me/

I replaced two meals each day with Soylent (usually breakfast and lunch) and enjoyed a healthy dinner. I attempted on day one to consume nothing but Soylent; however, the explosive diarrhea was too much to handle. I do partake in black-coffee throughout the day, perhaps Soylent does not play well with caffeine? My innards have mostly adjusted to the extreme fiber increase and I am ready to go full-on-Soylent for week two and on–barring that no-one offers to purchase food for me.

I did miss chewing, not food, just chewing and my jaw became sore from sitting stagnant. I craved beef-jerky but was satisfied from chewing-gum.

Side Note: I actually embarked on this Soylent journey to cut back on my food-cost; NOT for weight-loss. Free sushi or lunch from the boss at work is completely welcome so long as it is healthy and tasty. If I find that I go rouge and fall off the wagon then I will not allow myself to stray from the putrid-power-powder; however, it is rare, if ever, that people offer me free food. I expect straying from of the powdered path will be limited.

Weirdly enough, the thought of eating normal food almost repulsed me throughout the week. I craved my pancake-battered-beauty that is Soylent. I had headaches the first two days but they dissipated by day three. Come Wednesday, I was overcome by laser-sharp focus at work, more energy throughout the day, and disabled by destructive diarrhea. If it were not for the bludgeoning-bowel-bastardization, Soylent would be a dream come true.

I am adding regular exercise to my routine this week and moving forward but I am sticking with the normal (one bag) of Soylent per day. This should act as a catalyst for my weight loss during the weeks ahead.

I have lost over two-lbs in a week–it could be water… probably mostly diarrhea.

Side Note:

I was like an excitedly giddy school girl when my Joylent arrived and I did sub a meal or two of Soylent for Joylent. My initial findings are as follows: I prefer the taste and consistency of Joylent; however, Soylent fills me more and provides me with more focus and energy.

 
8
Kudos
 
8
Kudos

Now read this

Pastimes–Freelance Flyer

Looking for jobs is one of my favorite pastimes. Really though, I find it incredibly relaxing and at times, exhilarating. In a given day I will check indeed, snagajob, scv jobs, craigslist, linkedin, monster, zip recruiter, jobbatical,... Continue →